Question: Is 16 the age of consent in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, the official age of consent is 16, but there are some caveats that need to be addressed. A person under the age of 13 cannot give consent.

Can a 20 year old date a 16 year old in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, it is illegal for an adult (someone 18 or older) to have sex with a minor (someone younger than 16), even if the sex is consensual.

The age of consent in New Jersey is 16 years old, meaning that anyone who is at least 16 years of age can legally consent to sexual activity with another adult—no matter what age.

16 years old New Jersey Age of Consent Laws 2021 The New Jersey Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity.

Write us

Find us at the office

Kyker- Kublin street no. 42, 51864 Pretoria, South Africa

Give us a ring

Carnell Mckean
+65 937 708 93
Mon - Fri, 10:00-20:00

Contact us